Bills Fans Gear Now Available! ×

Hate to spend the money but need a new car

Fansince88

Going to test drive a CR-V EXL tomorrow. Any reviews here? Thoughts.  I have been a Honda driver most of my life. When I didnt drive one I regretted it at about 120k miles. 09 Civic has 192k on it and the rocker panels look like a surf barrel. New body, shocks, brakes, and headlights and it would go another 100k but I live in NNY

Crap Throwing Clavin

Try and get it above the speed limit.  I've never seen a CR-V on the road go any faster than five miles below the speed limit, and I'm curious if the vehicle is even capable of it.  

• Like 1

8 hours ago, Crap Throwing Monkey said:

Try and get it above the speed limit.  I've never seen a CR-V on the road go any faster than five miles below the speed limit, and I'm curious if the vehicle is even capable of it.  

Per the reviews it cuts out at 104mph. I know what you are talking about and that is important for me. I pass as much of them as Subaru drivers on the road. The only difference is Subaru drivers I pass stay in the passing lane. The fact that most of the CR-V drivers are white haired concerns me too.  I do 63 the 55mph, 73-75 in the 65 and 79ish in the 70 mph zones. The toss up is between the Pilot Max 27mpg or the CR-V Max 33 mpg. Im replacing a civic that gets me 31mpg. I drive 3 miles of back road, then 8 miles of county road than 2 miles @30mph in the village 1 way to work. So it would be more the mixed MPG of 24 Pilot and 29 CR-V. If we had Trump fuel prices I would  go with Pilot in a heartbeat.

My daughter has been driving two consecutive CR-Vs for almost 10 years. We wanted her to drive that because she was going to school up in Geneseo.  I’ve taken that on road trips up to WNY in winter because of the AWD.  Neither of us are granny drivers.  She hit a decent-size deer in her first CRV while up at school. No appreciable damage.